Cristina Garrigós


Cristina Garrigós is Professor of American Literature at the National University of Distance Education (UNED), where she has been teaching since 2015. She holds a B.A and a PhD in English from the University of Seville. She has taught at different universities in Spain (University Autonomous of Madrid, University of León- for almost twenty years) and the U.S.A (UNC Chapel Hill, where she got her M.A. in Comparative Literature), University of Mississippi (Olemiss) and Texas A&M International. She has been a visiting scholar at several universities in Europe and the United States. Garrigós has been on the editorial board and/or scientific advisor in several journals such as Atlantis, Miscelánea, Epos, Estudios Humanísticos, etc. She has been a member of several funded research projects on multiculturalism in the U.S.A, ethnic literature and hospitality, and she was the coordinator of a project on literature written in Spanish in the U.S.A.

Her research interests include U.S. contemporary literature, film, music and gender. She is the author of a monograph on John Barth, as well as the editor of Charlotte Lennox’s The Female Quixote in Spanish; she has coedited several conference proceedings and collective volumes such as 11 septiembre y la tradición disidente en los Estados Unidos (Biblioteca Javier Coy, Valencia), or the dossier on Punk Connections: A Transcultural Perspective in the Journal Lectora (U. of Barcelona) She has published articles and book chapters on authors such as John Barth, Kathy Acker, Gloria Anzaldúa, Giannina Braschi, Rabih Alameddine, Don DeLillo or Ruth Ozeki. Currently, she is working on memory losses; she is writing a monograph on the representations of Alzheimer’s in U.S. fiction which will be published with Routledge UP in 2020, and she is preparing an edited volume on forgetting in America.

Garrigós has been member of SAAS since 1993 and has participated in the organization of two conferences of the association (Seville 1995 and León 1997). She was secretary of the Association for eight years (2003-2011).